Happy Mother’s Day

One of my favorite things to do is give gifts to people.  Whenever holidays, or birthdays come rolling around I always get excited and instantly start brainstorming ideas.  I even have a file saved on my phone of random gifts for my family in case I am ever in need of inspiration.  I’ve also been guilty of buying random gifts for people out of the blue.  So if you’re my friend…watch out!! You may just find a gift on your doorstep one of these days 🙂

I have a couple of criteria for gifts:

1.  No gift cards–Although I love receiving gift cards, when it comes to other people I prefer the challenge of finding something truly unique on the shelves.

2.  It cannot be on their list–This is one of my favorite rules.  I absolutely love the challenge of finding something totally unexpected and still what they really needed.

3.  Quality over quantity–This one is hard for me because a lot of the gifts that I want to buy my family are usually pretty expensive.  How I wish I had a million dollars…sigh… But lately I have been able to get creative with less money.

So this Mother’s Day my brain got cracking and I started thinking up ideas.  Unfortunately my mother is an extremely hard person to shop for because she likes everything and I wanted to get her something really special that really conveyed my true feelings for her.

Well, Saturday rolled around and I still had nothing.  But not for long!!  Whilst shopping at Target I spotted it, the perfect gift, and into my shopping cart it went.  It was on sale too!! Score!!

In case you were wondering, I got my mom the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes.”  Have you ever seen it?  It is very good.  I remembered that this movie was one of her favorites movies but she only had it on VHS.  Well, since VHS has pretty much become prehistoric (insert dinosaur roar here) I thought it would be a good idea to get it on DVD.

As I was driving home, inspiration struck.  What would be the perfect complement to go with the movie?

Any guesses?

REAL FRIED GREEN TOMATOES!!

I found a recipe online and came up with this version

Fried Green Tomatoes

Ingredients:

3 green tomatoes

1/2c All Purpose Flour

1/2c Bread crumbs

1/2c Milk

2 Beaten Eggs

1/4c Oil

Directions:

Heat a frying pan on the stove with 2 TB of oil until the oil starts bubbling. Slice tomatoes into 1/2 inch thick pieces. Dip slices into milk, then flour, then eggs, then bread crumbs. Fry 2-3 minutes on both sides until crispy.

Note: Make sure you use some kind of splatter guard or something in between cooking so that the oil does not burn you! Hot stuff!!!

Alien "tomatoes" and a few red ones

Assemble the Ingredients!

All lined up, waiting...

Ready to Eat!

This recipe was a lot of fun to make even though it totally goes against my food philosophy.  I have never made anything fried before and was equally grossed out and fascinated at the same time.  I didn’t actually try any of the slices myself (all that oil!!!) but my mom really loved them.

Fun fact:  My dad actually picked up Tomatilloes instead of green tomatoes.  Has anybody ever tried one of these things????  They look like some kind of alien pod!!!!  Not to mention the taste is the most bizarre, unique and totally unexpected thing I have ever eaten.  They seriously taste like a cross between a kiwi and a tomato–salty and sweet at the same time.  But everybody liked them so they still worked in the recipe!

Tomatillo

This Mother’s Day was a lot of fun.  There were a lot of laughs, a lot of good food, and a lot memories that we will all cherish forever.  I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family.

Happy Mother’s Day to my mom, one of the strongest, most loving people I know.  Thank you for always being there for me when I was down and for lifting me up and assuring me that I was a good person.  Thank you for all of the hugs, the encouraging notes, the muffins you buy for me, and the endless support that I desperately needed during my recovery from my eating disorder.  Thank you for never giving up on me and always coming back even when we fight.  But most of all, thank you for loving me unconditionally, no matter who I am, what I’ve done, or what I’ve done to you.

I love you Mom.

Leave a Reply

