Knock, Knock….

Who’s there?

ABOUT TIME.

About time who?

ABOUT TIME FOR A PROTEIN POWDER REVIEW!!!

Okay so that was about the lamest joke ever…..

but who cares because

Lookie what came in the mail!!!

About a week ago the folks who make About Time whey protein products sent me some of their samples to review.

I am a huge fan of protein powders and love experimenting with new ones!  Some have been good, some not so good, and some just downright nasty.  So of course I was ecstatic about trying out a new brand.

They sent me 6 DELICIOUS FLAVORS

–Chocolate

–Vanilla

–Peaches and Cream

–Strawberry

–Birthday Cake

–Cinnamon Swirl

I decided to start off with some of my beloved tofu-pudding.  I chose the Birthday Cake flavor and happily got to work.  To be honest I was kind of disappointed with the way it turned out.  Usually when I make my tofu pudding I need some kind of sweetener to mask the taste of the tofu.  I was hoping that this protein powder would be sweet enough to do the trick but unfortunately I could barely taste the Birthday Cake flavor at all.  Bummer.

A smoothie was next up on the list!

I settled on making a strawberry-rhubarb smoothie after uncovering some long-forgotten frozen rhubarb lurking in my freezer!  The verdict?

AMAZING!!!

The strawberry flavor instantly hit my tongue with a rich, fruity taste that wasn’t too sickeningly sweet.  It also paired very nicely with the rhubarb, recreating one of my favorite desserts (Strawberry Rhubarb pie) as a child.

Strawberry Rhubarb Smoothie

1c Almond Milk

1/2c Frozen Rhubarb (I wouldn’t recommend using more than 1/2c because the rhubarb will be too tart).

1 serving About Time Strawberry Flavor Whey Protein Powder

Delicious!!

This is the perfect recovery drink after a hard workout.  Nice and crisp and fresh!!

Overall, here is what I rated the About Time Protein Powders based on 4 criteria:

Taste Factor–9

Even just straight off the spoon this protein powder is amazing.  It has a really sweet taste without any chemical aftertaste.

Mixability–7.5

The powder tends to have a very chalky texture that is hard to break down when you are just mixing it into plain yogurt or a glass of milk.  My favorite way to use protein powder is to stir it into yogurt so I was disappointed that it didn’t dissolve completely.  It works excellent in smoothies as you can see above.

Texture–7

I wasn’t too crazy about the texture because like most whey protein powders I have tried, it tends to be very slimy and thick when mixed together.  This is just my personal preference though.

Nutrition–10

I was completely blown away by how AWESOME the nutrition stats on this product are.  They are low in calories, have no carbohydrates or sugars, and don’t have any funky or artificial ingredients.  Check it out!!

Are those stats awesome or what?

In addition to protein powders, the company also boasts an array of other protein supplements.  More information can be found on their website www.tryabouttime.com.

It’s About Time you checked them out for yourself!!!

3 thoughts on “Knock, Knock….

Leave a Reply

